2 weeks post activation

2 weeks post activation

Activated! My cool AB Naida Q90 processor.
I have been hearing for 2 weeks now and all I can say is I’m still in awe. I was blessed to have what is considered a “rockstar” activation. To put it simply, when they hooked me up to my processor and switched me “on”, I was not only hearing sounds, but actually understanding speech. What a remarkable experience to go from zero sound to hearing. I heard the swoosh of a piece of paper as it was pushed across the desk, the rustle of plastic wrap as a package was unwrapped, the zip of a zipper as a bag was opened, and the rumble of my husband’s stomach as he patiently waited, seated behind me. These were just a few of the first sounds I heard. They didn’t all make sense to my brain or sound the way they should have, but I HEARD them!

Voices sounded extremely mechanical – like everyone breathed in helium or a bad rendition of Alvin & the Chipmunks. Even after two weeks, voices still have a very mechanical quality to them, but the sound is getting better. At first, I could not differentiate between a man, woman, or child – now I find it easier to tell men & women apart. 

I am quickly realizing how blessed I have been to have such a stellar activation. I hear often of people who struggle to make out words months after activation. Even so, it’s not an instant fix for me. I actively practice listening several hours a day. I use various apps and programs that are specific to training your brain to listen as well as simply listening to speech (TV/talk radio) and my favorite songs. They sound very different than the way I remember them, but in theory, my brain will eventually “click” and sounds will seem normal again. 

I can’t wait to get rid of the chipmunk voices, but the sounds I hear every day are nothing short of miraculous! Did you know that fluorescent lights make a pulsing sound? Light switches make a distinctive click when they are switched? Dog toenails clip on tile floors? My shoes squeak when I walk? Fabric whooshes when it rubs against itself. These are all sounds that I have NEVER heard, even before going deaf. My brain hasn’t figured out how to filter all these sounds out yet, but soon it will and I won’t notice those little sounds so easily, but right now I’m loving every little new beep, chirp, or click I hear. 

Already I have done things I never expected – talked on the phone; watched TV without captions; heard someone speak from another room AND understood what was said! It is exhausting and takes an enormous amount of concentration to get my new ear & brain to work together and it’s still far from perfect. Situations with lots of background noise or poor acoustics are nearly impossible for me to follow but hopefully that will come with time too. I have months, if not years, of practice & training ahead of me with several more mappings (adjustments & programs made to my processor to help optimize my hearing experience). For now, I am basking in the glow of sound and thanking God every day that I live in an age where technology can give back my ability to hear. Every day is a new experience and a step toward better hearing. 

Leave a Reply

