Life Sounds Good

Life Sounds Good

Yesterday was my 6 month “heariversary”! I can’t believe that half a year has gone by already, and yet at the same time, it feels so natural to be hearing like this. It’s actually easy to forget that I’m deaf, sometimes. That is, of course, until I take off my processor. 

This journey so far has been nothing short of miraculous. To go from barely hearing anything (only the loudest sounds) and no hope to understand speech to be able to watch TV without captions or have a conversation without lipreading is mind boggling. I still struggle at times and certain people will always be difficult for me to understand, but I HEAR!! 

Spring has Sprung!

The sounds of life are so wonderful to experience again. Now that spring has finally come to the great white north, I am overwhelmed with the sounds of the world awakening. From the twittering of the birds, to the trilling of the frogs, to the rustle of the wind through the trees – life sounds so good!

I find myself captivated listening to the beauty around me. For so long I have relied on all my other senses to portray the beauty in nature. Now, I sit outside and close my eyes and just listen; enveloped in the magnificence of spring & life. 

I am so grateful that I can truly appreciate the gift of hearing; for I do not believe one can realize the value in something until they have lost it. Each day when I wake up and put my “ear” on, I feel overwhelming gratitude for the technology that provides this blessing. Music, laughter, birds, rain, frogs… I can hear them all and all I can say is: Life. Sounds. Good. 

Leave a Reply

